

The Pan-African Society of Cardiology (PASCAR) Department of Medicine Faculty of Health Sciences University of Cape Town Observatory 7925 Cape Town, South Africa

PO Box 26716, Monument Park, 0105 South Africa

# African Union Communiqué on Eradication of ARF and RHD

### Action Group 6 Meeting Minutes

2 November 2016

Venue: Skype Conference Call

Time: 15h00 – 16h00 (South African Time)

- 1. Welcome and Opening Remarks Chris Hugo-Hamman
- 2. Attendees: Chris Hugo Hamman (CHH), Sherri Schwaninger (SS), Jeremiah Mwangi (JM) and Janette Lombard (JL)
- 3. Apologies: Steven Shongwe (technical difficulties), Frank Edwin (in surgery), George Nel (in Washington)

# 4. Summary of meeting

- Letter to be sent by National Medical Societies Representative with PASCAR
  - PASCAR and WHF Logo on both pages
  - PASCAR Governing Council details to not be repeated on 2<sup>nd</sup> page
  - Cover letter mentions that the attached letter can be modified before sending to MoH
  - Delete table at bottom of page for signatures
  - o Only Prof Bongani Mayosi and WHF signature
    - JM will send letter through to Dr Salim Yusuf for signature

# • Funding

- GN on write-up of funding JL will forward to all members
  - JM will adapt the process, get back in 1 month
- o JM: Found the funding, just about defining what it is. (\$2,000-\$5,000 each for the small grants?!)
- JM: Funding is for any activities related to meetings with MoH (to help facilitate that process)
  - What kind of assistance they need to help get the conversation going in their country
    - Putting together proposals and highlighting priorities that needs to be taken

PASCAR Governing Council - Prof Bongani Mayosi, South Africa, President; Prof Samuel Omokhodion, Nigeria, Immediate Past Secretary General, Dr Benedict Anisiuba, Nigeria, Secretary General; Prof Karen Sliwa-Hahnle, South Africa, Treasurer; Prof Patrick Commerford, South Africa, Editor (Cardiovascular Journal of Africa); Prof Serigne Ba, Senegal, Vice-President West; Dr Saad Subahi, Sudan, Vice-President North; Prof Ana-Olga Mocumbi, Mozambique, Vice-President South; Prof Elijah Ogola, Kenya, Vice-President East; Dr Anastase Dzudie, Cameroon, Acting Vice-President Central; Dr Harun Otieno, Kenya, Assistant Secretary General East; Dr Awad Mohamed, Sudan, Assistant Secretary General North; Prof Johan Brink, South Africa, Assistant Secretary General South and Prof Toure Ali Ibrahim, Niger, Assistant Secretary General West.



The Pan-African Society of Cardiology (PASCAR) Department of Medicine Faculty of Health Sciences University of Cape Town Observatory 7925 Cape Town, South Africa

PO Box 26716, Monument Park, 0105 South Africa

- Cairo meeting (14-16 January 2017)
  - o CHH and JM received invitations
    - When responding to the invite, they can start with travel and accommodation arrangements
    - JM will make decision early next week
  - o 14<sup>th</sup>-16<sup>th</sup> Detailed programme JL will forward to all
  - SS: Novartis provided education grant for the workshops, would like to give an update to Jonathan Spector. PASCAR received the grant contract and will action as needed.
  - Considering Army Hotel in Cairo as venue (politically well connected)

### 5. Next step, specific tasks

- JM:
  - o Send letter through to Dr Salim Yusuf for signature (end of week)
  - Adapt the write-up process for funding (1 December)
- JL:
- Forward to all:
  - GN write-up of funding (done)
  - Cairo detailed programme (done)
- o Letter to be sent by Monday after receipt of signature and final signoff
  - Send letter before 30 November
- o Schedule next meeting Thursday -1 December 14h30 CAT
- 6. Any other business None
- 7. Closed with thanks

PASCAR Governing Council - Prof Bongani Mayosi, South Africa, President; Prof Samuel Omokhodion, Nigeria, Immediate Past Secretary General, Dr Benedict Anisiuba, Nigeria, Secretary General; Prof Karen Sliwa-Hahnle, South Africa, Treasurer; Prof Patrick Commerford, South Africa, Editor (Cardiovascular Journal of Africa); Prof Serigne Ba, Senegal, Vice-President West; Dr Saad Subahi, Sudan, Vice-President North; Prof Ana-Olga Mocumbi, Mozambique, Vice-President South; Prof Elijah Ogola, Kenya, Vice-President East; Dr Anastase Dzudie, Cameroon, Acting Vice-President Central; Dr Harun Otieno, Kenya, Assistant Secretary General East; Dr Awad Mohamed, Sudan, Assistant Secretary General North; Prof Johan Brink, South Africa, Assistant Secretary General South and Prof Toure Ali Ibrahim, Niger, Assistant Secretary General West.