

The Pan-African Society of Cardiology (PASCAR)
Department of Medicine Faculty of Health Sciences
University of Cape Town
Observatory 7925
Cape Town, South Africa

PO Box 26716, Monument Park, 0105 South Africa

African Union Communiqué on Eradication of ARF and RHD

Action Group 6 Meeting Minutes

17 May 2017 | Time: 16h00 – 17h00 (South African Time)

Venue: Skype Conference Call

- 1. **Welcome and Opening Remarks** Chris Hugo-Hamman
- 2. Attendees: Chris Hugo Hamman (CHH), Sherri Schwaninger (SS), Jeremiah Mwangi (JM) and Janette Lombard (JL)
- 3. No RSVP: Steven Shongwe (SS), Frank Edwin (FE)
- 4. Summary of meeting

• Zambian Training Module

- CHH thanked SS (Novartis) for the slide-set template (Training Module) that was adapted to be used as tool for all countries
 - Tool will be made available through PASCAR Website
 - CHH comments to adapted version:
 - Heading should be changed to: Training Module for field workers/nurses
 - We should mention on Slide 12 that BPG injection is very painful
 - Pain can be reduced when BPG (powder form) is diluted with 1% lignocaine instead of water
 - Use Dr Geoffrey Madeira publication as reference on lignocaine
- CHH asked JM to look at module and provide feedback in two weeks (1 July)
- SS reviewed the Sudan RHD training module compiled by Dr. Sulafa Ali (SS) Module intended for physician training
 - SS emailed SA notifying her that we are drafting a non-physician training flipchart (might save that team some time and effort)
 - Next step for the Sudan team is to draft a healthcare worker training program

PASCAR Governing Council - Prof Bongani Mayosi, South Africa, President; Prof Samuel Omokhodion, Nigeria, Immediate Past Secretary General, Dr Benedict Anisiuba, Nigeria, Secretary General; Prof Karen Sliwa-Hahnle, South Africa, Treasurer; Prof Patrick Commerford, South Africa, Editor (Cardiovascular Journal of Africa); Prof Serigne Ba, Senegal, Vice-President West; Dr Saad Subahi, Sudan, Vice-President North; Prof Ana-Olga Mocumbi, Mozambique, Vice-President South; Prof Elijah Ogola, Kenya, Vice-President East; Dr Anastase Dzudie, Cameroon, Acting Vice-President Central; Dr Harun Otieno, Kenya, Assistant Secretary General East; Dr Awad Mohamed, Sudan, Assistant Secretary General North; Prof Johan Brink, South Africa, Assistant Secretary General South and Prof Toure Ali Ibrahim, Niger, Assistant Secretary General West.



The Pan-African Society of Cardiology (PASCAR)
Department of Medicine Faculty of Health Sciences
University of Cape Town
Observatory 7925
Cape Town, South Africa

PO Box 26716, Monument Park, 0105 South Africa

• PASCAR Small Grant Program

- PASCAR sent Request for Proposal Letters out on 28 April & 9 May
- We received 1 application so far; Azza Abul-fadl (Egypt) and 3 countries showed interest:
 - Charles Mondo (Uganda)
 - James Russell (Sierra Leone)
 - Charles Yankah (Ghana)
- We agree that countries can apply for both small grant programmes (PASCAR & RHD Action)
 - Countries will only be rewarded for 1 project (can submit different projects)

5. Next steps and specific tasks

- JM: Provide feedback on Zambian Training Module to SS (by 1 June)
- JL:
- Send SS Lignocaine publication (done)
- Send Sulafa Ali our Training Module
- Send CHH spreadsheet of countries that sent letters to MoH and provide feedback/responses from MoH
- Provide information and send regular communication on Sudan Heart Congress, 8 11 October
- Schedule next meeting when proposals will be adjudicated: Thursday 15 June 16h00 (CAT)
- 6. Any other business None
- 7. Closed with thanks

PASCAR Governing Council - Prof Bongani Mayosi, South Africa, President; Prof Samuel Omokhodion, Nigeria, Immediate Past Secretary General, Dr Benedict Anisiuba, Nigeria, Secretary General; Prof Karen Sliwa-Hahnle, South Africa, Treasurer; Prof Patrick Commerford, South Africa, Editor (Cardiovascular Journal of Africa); Prof Serigne Ba, Senegal, Vice-President West; Dr Saad Subahi, Sudan, Vice-President North; Prof Ana-Olga Mocumbi, Mozambique, Vice-President South; Prof Elijah Ogola, Kenya, Vice-President East; Dr Anastase Dzudie, Cameroon, Acting Vice-President Central; Dr Harun Otieno, Kenya, Assistant Secretary General East; Dr Awad Mohamed, Sudan, Assistant Secretary General North; Prof Johan Brink, South Africa, Assistant Secretary General South and Prof Toure Ali Ibrahim, Niger, Assistant Secretary General West.