

The Pan-African Society of Cardiology (PASCAR)
Department of Medicine Faculty of Health Sciences
University of Cape Town
Observatory 7925
Cape Town, South Africa

PO Box 26716, Monument Park, 0105 South Africa

African Union Communiqué on Eradication of ARF and RHD

Action Group 6 Meeting Minutes

1 December 2016

Venue: Skype Conference Call

Time: 14h30 - 15h00 (South African Time)

- 1. **Welcome and Opening Remarks –** Chris Hugo-Hamman
- 2. Attendees: Chris Hugo Hamman (CHH), Sherri Schwaninger (SS), Jeremiah Mwangi (JM), Steven Shongwe (StS) and Janette Lombard (JL)
- 3. No RSVP: Frank Edwin (FE)

4. Summary of meeting

- Letter that was sent to National Medical Societies Representative with PASCAR and WHF
 - o Sent Letters to 27 Countries
 - Excluding Namibia
 - Response from Egypt, Seychelles, Cameroon, Burundi
 - o Sent emails to 10 Countries searching for representative from countries we don't have contact with
 - No response yet

Funding

- o JM waiting to hear from GN (with process for the funds)
- JM has received approval for funding to support anyone who needs some kind of additional recourses
- o JL must speak to GN to make contact with JM (Write up, what is available, clarify what the application procedure is) Information to be sent out to representatives of countries (same email addresses as for the letters)

PASCAR Governing Council - Prof Bongani Mayosi, South Africa, President; Prof Samuel Omokhodion, Nigeria, Immediate Past Secretary General, Dr Benedict Anisiuba, Nigeria, Secretary General; Prof Karen Sliwa-Hahnle, South Africa, Treasurer; Prof Patrick Commerford, South Africa, Editor (Cardiovascular Journal of Africa); Prof Serigne Ba, Senegal, Vice-President West; Dr Saad Subahi, Sudan, Vice-President North; Prof Ana-Olga Mocumbi, Mozambique, Vice-President South; Prof Elijah Ogola, Kenya, Vice-President East; Dr Anastase Dzudie, Cameroon, Acting Vice-President Central; Dr Harun Otieno, Kenya, Assistant Secretary General East; Dr Awad Mohamed, Sudan, Assistant Secretary General North; Prof Johan Brink, South Africa, Assistant Secretary General South and Prof Toure Ali Ibrahim, Niger, Assistant Secretary General West.



The Pan-African Society of Cardiology (PASCAR)
Department of Medicine Faculty of Health Sciences
University of Cape Town
Observatory 7925
Cape Town, South Africa

PO Box 26716, Monument Park, 0105 South Africa

- o Funding topic for Cairo
- Cairo meeting (13 January 2017)
 - o RHD Action Group Committee to meet on 13 January 2017 (Small group discussions)
 - o Agenda will be sent out as soon as available
 - StS inquires on Cairo dates (13 16 January 2017) (no invitation) He would like to receive an
 invitation letter
 - o SS: Unsure of invitation
 - Novartis sponsored meeting, but few still waiting for invitation/information
 - Some has booked flights, others waiting confirmation (SS, Dr Aiden Long, Brigitta Tadmor, Yusra Shawar)
 - o CHH asked details of invitations to not be discussed in this meeting

Next step

Leave this for Cairo

6. Specific tasks

- JL:
- o JL Resend MoH letters (copy CHH on all letters, and JM on one letter) Done
- O Speak to GN on the Funding to make contact with JM (Write up, what is available, clarify what the application procedure is to be sent out to members (same email addresses for the Letters)
- o Send Cairo Agenda for 13 January 2017 as soon as available
- Confirm SS and StS invitations
- 7. Any other business None
- 8. Closed with thanks

PASCAR Governing Council - Prof Bongani Mayosi, South Africa, President; Prof Samuel Omokhodion, Nigeria, Immediate Past Secretary General, Dr Benedict Anisiuba, Nigeria, Secretary General; Prof Karen Sliwa-Hahnle, South Africa, Treasurer; Prof Patrick Commerford, South Africa, Editor (Cardiovascular Journal of Africa); Prof Serigne Ba, Senegal, Vice-President West; Dr Saad Subahi, Sudan, Vice-President North; Prof Ana-Olga Mocumbi, Mozambique, Vice-President South; Prof Elijah Ogola, Kenya, Vice-President East; Dr Anastase Dzudie, Cameroon, Acting Vice-President Central; Dr Harun Otieno, Kenya, Assistant Secretary General East; Dr Awad Mohamed, Sudan, Assistant Secretary General North; Prof Johan Brink, South Africa, Assistant Secretary General South and Prof Toure Ali Ibrahim, Niger, Assistant Secretary General West.