

The Pan-African Society of Cardiology (PASCAR)
Department of Medicine Faculty of Health Sciences
University of Cape Town
Observatory 7925
Cape Town, South Africa

PO Box 26716, Monument Park, 0105 South Africa

## African Union Communiqué on Eradication of ARF and RHD

## **Action Group 1 Meeting Minutes:**

1 November 2016, Skype: Time: 15h00 – 16h00 (South African Time)

## MARK ACTION POINTS

- Need App in French and Portuguese for the continent:
  - o Ms Poala Thuenissen will complete the translation
- Countries:

o Angola: Dr Maria da Glória Costa Mawete - Portugues

Tanzania: Dr MedaBotswana: Dr Mwita

- Pilot Countries:
  - o Discussion with Prof Mayosi agreed that we should not use Invictus sites for pilot given that Registry data will be collected nevertheless.
  - o Countries

1. Angola: Dr Maria da Glória Costa Mawete - Portugues

2. Tanzania: Dr Meda; Dr Steve Justus

3. Botswana: Dr Mwita

- WHO Download: minimal data set criteria
  - o Invictus (Not Dimagi) software based, screen dump of data once a month, to match the fields Lwazi will begin on the protocol for completing this step
- ME struggling with how they can use Commcare app as service tool still needs discussion
- Patient monitoring tool needs permission from Hospital, not ethics needs further discussion
- Outstanding
  - o License agreement: Mark to Modify
  - ME & GN to approach Dimagi end of Oct to explore maintenance of current structure at cost effective rate (March 2017 onwards)

PASCAR Governing Council - Prof Bongani Mayosi, South Africa, President; Prof Samuel Omokhodion, Nigeria, Immediate Past Secretary General, Dr Benedict Anisiuba, Nigeria, Secretary General; Prof Karen Sliwa-Hahnle, South Africa, Treasurer; Prof Patrick Commerford, South Africa, Editor (Cardiovascular Journal of Africa); Prof Serigne Ba, Senegal, Vice-President West; Dr Saad Subahi, Sudan, Vice-President North; Prof Ana-Olga Mocumbi, Mozambique, Vice-President South; Prof Elijah Ogola, Kenya, Vice-President East; Dr Anastase Dzudie, Cameroon, Acting Vice-President Central; Dr Harun Otieno, Kenya, Assistant Secretary General East; Dr Awad Mohamed, Sudan, Assistant Secretary General North; Prof Johan Brink, South Africa, Assistant Secretary General South and Prof Toure Ali Ibrahim, Niger, Assistant Secretary General West.