

The Pan-African Society of Cardiology (PASCAR)
Department of Medicine Faculty of Health Sciences
University of Cape Town
Observatory 7925
Cape Town, South Africa

PO Box 26716, Monument Park, 0105 South Africa

African Union Communiqué on Eradication of ARF and RHD

Action Group 7 Meeting Minutes

26 September 2016

Venue: Skype Conference Call

Time: 16h00 – 17h00 (South African Time)

- 1. Welcome and Opening Remarks David Watkins
- 2. Attendees: David Watkins (DW), Jeremiah Mwangi (JM), Zongezile Makrexeni (ZM) and Janette Lombard (JL)
- 3. Summary of meeting
 - Letter to Ministers of Health (Action Group 6 responsible for this action)
 - Survey: DW could not yet draft some questions
 - DW:
 - Current Partnerships already in place Ministry/Private Sector (PASCAR partner with ministries/Cardiology Societies)
 - o Recommend investigate a joint Survey with other Action Groups.
 - JM:
 - o What are members doing at national/regional/global level and How?
 - Will send template
 - DW: Grand opportunity we're trying to put together (non-profit grant) Funding in a Multi-spectral way
 - Concept Note: Costing piece (Continue with this regardless of other funding/efforts)
 - o Reached out to UCT Health Economics Unit for graduate students to work on projects/pieces, to help develop tools (2017)
 - o Will work on formal arrangement with Health Economics Unit

PASCAR Governing Council - Prof Bongani Mayosi, South Africa, President; Prof Samuel Omokhodion, Nigeria, Immediate Past Secretary General, Dr Benedict Anisiuba, Nigeria, Secretary General; Prof Karen Sliwa-Hahnle, South Africa, Treasurer; Prof Patrick Commerford, South Africa, Editor (Cardiovascular Journal of Africa); Prof Serigne Ba, Senegal, Vice-President West; Dr Saad Subahi, Sudan, Vice-President North; Prof Ana-Olga Mocumbi, Mozambique, Vice-President South; Prof Elijah Ogola, Kenya, Vice-President East; Dr Anastase Dzudie, Cameroon, Acting Vice-President Central; Dr Harun Otieno, Kenya, Assistant Secretary General East; Dr Awad Mohamed, Sudan, Assistant Secretary General North; Prof Johan Brink, South Africa, Assistant Secretary General South and Prof Toure Ali Ibrahim, Niger, Assistant Secretary General West.



The Pan-African Society of Cardiology (PASCAR)
Department of Medicine Faculty of Health Sciences
University of Cape Town
Observatory 7925
Cape Town, South Africa

PO Box 26716, Monument Park, 0105 South Africa

- o Separate line of work with WHO health tool, not for NCD's yet. Possibility WHO will help with developing module (sub-contract with a master student) for NCD health tool
- Chose 5 countries "wisely" (Probably use estimates as we have limited data)
 - o Ethiopia/Rwanda/South Africa
 - Estimate this cost in Cube, 7c per child per year
 - What is the level of treatment Preventing and treating
- DW: Can schedule next meeting for November (skip October)

4. Next step, specific tasks

- JL:
 - Find out from George Nel if Action Group 7 has any role (specific role) in regards to the letter been sent to Country MoH by Action group 6.
 - Find out from other Action Groups if they would be interested in a joint Survey with AG7
- DW:
 - Survey Draft questions, send around for input
 - Concept Note (2 Proposed collaborations)
 - i. select countries
 - ii. costing plan
 - Will speak with ZM offline on master student to work on project/pieces
- JM:
 - Send template
- Agenda topic for next meeting
 - Funding opportunity update
 - Formal arrangement with Health Economics Unit
 - WHO NCD Module health tool
- 5. Any other business None

6. Closed with thanks

PASCAR Governing Council - Prof Bongani Mayosi, South Africa, President; Prof Samuel Omokhodion, Nigeria, Immediate Past Secretary General, Dr Benedict Anisiuba, Nigeria, Secretary General; Prof Karen Sliwa-Hahnle, South Africa, Treasurer; Prof Patrick Commerford, South Africa, Editor (Cardiovascular Journal of Africa); Prof Serigne Ba, Senegal, Vice-President West; Dr Saad Subahi, Sudan, Vice-President North; Prof Ana-Olga Mocumbi, Mozambique, Vice-President South; Prof Elijah Ogola, Kenya, Vice-President East; Dr Anastase Dzudie, Cameroon, Acting Vice-President Central; Dr Harun Otieno, Kenya, Assistant Secretary General East; Dr Awad Mohamed, Sudan, Assistant Secretary General North; Prof Johan Brink, South Africa, Assistant Secretary General South and Prof Toure Ali Ibrahim, Niger, Assistant Secretary General West.