

The Pan-African Society of Cardiology (PASCAR)
Department of Medicine Faculty of Health Sciences
University of Cape Town
Observatory 7925
Cape Town, South Africa

PO Box 26716, Monument Park, 0105 South Africa

African Union Communiqué on Eradication of ARF and RHD

Action Group 7 Meeting Minutes

28 November 2016

Venue: Skype Conference Call

Time: 16h00 – 17h00 (South African Time)

- 1. Welcome and Opening Remarks David Watkins
- 2. Attendees: David Watkins (DW), Jeremiah Mwangi (JM), Janette Lombard (JL)
- 3. **Apologise**: Zongezile Makrexeni (ZM)
- 4. Summary of meeting
 - Survey (https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/PPY9BX6)
 - o Send out to Addis Ababa African Delegates
 - o Give a turnaround of two weeks, then resend it
 - o Send by end of week (1st week of December)
 - Concept note (Costing section)
 - DW: Working on collaboration and understanding with UCT unit, graduates to join and contribute (next year or two)
 - o Could probably dove tail with WHO collaboration concept (networking people to engage training)
 - o Also a proposed collaboration with WHO's Financing team (budget analysis for NCD's)
 - Met with Melanie Burgen (interested in doing this in 2017)
 - DW should have an update on this at the Cairo meeting
 - Abstract: On the partnership side:
 - Are there any areas where we can work a bit more intensively on cultivating partnerships? (To cultivate
 through strong communication framework partnerships between AU, Ministries of Health,
 International Agencies, Government etc. in order to insure implantation and the connection of Africa
 RHD control measures with the immerging global movement)

PASCAR Governing Council - Prof Bongani Mayosi, South Africa, President; Prof Samuel Omokhodion, Nigeria, Immediate Past Secretary General, Dr Benedict Anisiuba, Nigeria, Secretary General; Prof Karen Sliwa-Hahnle, South Africa, Treasurer; Prof Patrick Commerford, South Africa, Editor (Cardiovascular Journal of Africa); Prof Serigne Ba, Senegal, Vice-President West; Dr Saad Subahi, Sudan, Vice-President North; Prof Ana-Olga Mocumbi, Mozambique, Vice-President South; Prof Elijah Ogola, Kenya, Vice-President East; Dr Anastase Dzudie, Cameroon, Acting Vice-President Central; Dr Harun Otieno, Kenya, Assistant Secretary General East; Dr Awad Mohamed, Sudan, Assistant Secretary General North; Prof Johan Brink, South Africa, Assistant Secretary General South and Prof Toure Ali Ibrahim, Niger, Assistant Secretary General West.



The Pan-African Society of Cardiology (PASCAR)
Department of Medicine Faculty of Health Sciences
University of Cape Town
Observatory 7925
Cape Town, South Africa

PO Box 26716, Monument Park, 0105 South Africa

- o (Jeremiah Mwangi spoke unclear)
- O DW:What key stakeholders or partnerships need to be in place for support?
- o (Jeremiah Mwangi spoke unclear)
- O DW:Communication Framework Moving forward : what does it look like for these different stakeholders to collaborate and communicate effectively and how do we ensure efforts are not complimentary and that they are communicating well?
 - Think of this for 2017 (Better mechanism to communicating/disseminating, general communication aspects)
 - (Jeremiah Mwangi spoke unclear)

5. Next step, specific tasks

- JL: Send Survey out
- JM: Help think of better communication mechanism
- All: Think of how we can move forward on cultivating partnerships (before and after Cairo) Need or utility for
 outline communication framework, how to better communicate better amongst ourselves and stakeholders
 when the work starts happening

Next meeting Tuesday 3 January 2017 at 15h00 (CAT/ South African Time)

- 6. Any other business None
- 7. Closed with thanks

PASCAR Governing Council - Prof Bongani Mayosi, South Africa, President; Prof Samuel Omokhodion, Nigeria, Immediate Past Secretary General, Dr Benedict Anisiuba, Nigeria, Secretary General; Prof Karen Sliwa-Hahnle, South Africa, Treasurer; Prof Patrick Commerford, South Africa, Editor (Cardiovascular Journal of Africa); Prof Serigne Ba, Senegal, Vice-President West; Dr Saad Subahi, Sudan, Vice-President North; Prof Ana-Olga Mocumbi, Mozambique, Vice-President South; Prof Elijah Ogola, Kenya, Vice-President East; Dr Anastase Dzudie, Cameroon, Acting Vice-President Central; Dr Harun Otieno, Kenya, Assistant Secretary General East; Dr Awad Mohamed, Sudan, Assistant Secretary General North; Prof Johan Brink, South Africa, Assistant Secretary General South and Prof Toure Ali Ibrahim, Niger, Assistant Secretary General West.