

The Pan-African Society of Cardiology (PASCAR)
Department of Medicine Faculty of Health Sciences
University of Cape Town
Observatory 7925
Cape Town, South Africa

PO Box 26716, Monument Park, 0105 South Africa

African Union Communiqué on Eradication of ARF and RHD

Action Group 7 Meeting Minutes

23 August 2016

Venue: Skype Conference Call

Time: 16h00 – 17h00 (South African Time)

- 1. Welcome and Opening Remarks David Watkins
- 2. Attendees: David Watkins (DW), Jeremiah Mwangi (JM), Zongezile Makrexeni (ZM), Bongani Mayosi BM) and Janette Lombard (JL)
- 3. Apologise: George Nel (GN)
- 4. Introduction of members
- 5. Summary of meeting
 - Adding other people to Action Group 7
 - Possibility to engage with New Zealand on their RHD Resolution (http://rhdaction.org/news/call-civil-society-input-rhd-needs-and-priorities)
 - Letter that serves as a reminder of the AU Communiqué
 - Action Group 6 drafted/finalising letter to MoH from PASCAR/WHF through PASCAR Office
 - Cardiac Societies do a cover letter (Consider other Medical Societies/Heart Foundation if no Cardiac Societies in Country)
 - Survey of PASCAR Members: Current Partnerships already in place (Ministry/Private Sector) Needs assessment Survey (2-3 Questions) (Agenda Topic for September meeting)
 - CONCEPT NOTE 2 year process
 - "Investment case for eradicating rheumatic heart disease in Africa") on Methods, Dissemination (manuscripts), Timeline, Budget and personnel and considerations, and with two Proposed Collaborations:

PASCAR Governing Council - Prof Bongani Mayosi, South Africa, President; Prof Samuel Omokhodion, Nigeria, Immediate Past Secretary General, Dr Benedict Anisiuba, Nigeria, Secretary General; Prof Karen Sliwa-Hahnle, South Africa, Treasurer; Prof Patrick Commerford, South Africa, Editor (Cardiovascular Journal of Africa); Prof Serigne Ba, Senegal, Vice-President West; Dr Saad Subahi, Sudan, Vice-President North; Prof Ana-Olga Mocumbi, Mozambique, Vice-President South; Prof Elijah Ogola, Kenya, Vice-President East; Dr Anastase Dzudie, Cameroon, Acting Vice-President Central; Dr Harun Otieno, Kenya, Assistant Secretary General East; Dr Awad Mohamed, Sudan, Assistant Secretary General North; Prof Johan Brink, South Africa, Assistant Secretary General South and Prof Toure Ali Ibrahim, Niger, Assistant Secretary General West.



The Pan-African Society of Cardiology (PASCAR)
Department of Medicine Faculty of Health Sciences
University of Cape Town
Observatory 7925
Cape Town, South Africa

PO Box 26716, Monument Park, 0105 South Africa

- a) Proposed collaboration #1: Health Economics Unit at UCT
- b) Proposed collaboration #2: Health Systems Financing Dept. at WHO-Geneva
- Master student, positions open (Full time/part time) more people interested, the better.
- 6. Next step, specific tasks
 - JL:
 - Tracking contacts/societies that helps us send the letter to MoH in 50 African Countries
 - Show contacts with countries we have so far (to DW)
 - Schedule next meeting 26 September
 - DW discuss following with BM in Sept while in CT
 - Survey (Draft questions) before next meeting
 - Concept Note (2 Proposed collaborations select countries, costing plan)
- 7. **14 16 January 2017, Egypt Meeting in Cairo** (http://www.pascar.org/taskforces/entry/rheumatic-heart-disease under NEWS/EVENTS)
 - Take place of Addis Ababa meeting 2017
 - Deliverables/Milestones (Good response on letter, responses from Survey, regroup with various sites for costing side)
- 8. Any other business None
- 9. Closed with thanks

PASCAR Governing Council - Prof Bongani Mayosi, South Africa, President; Prof Samuel Omokhodion, Nigeria, Immediate Past Secretary General, Dr Benedict Anisiuba, Nigeria, Secretary General; Prof Karen Sliwa-Hahnle, South Africa, Treasurer; Prof Patrick Commerford, South Africa, Editor (Cardiovascular Journal of Africa); Prof Serigne Ba, Senegal, Vice-President West; Dr Saad Subahi, Sudan, Vice-President North; Prof Ana-Olga Mocumbi, Mozambique, Vice-President South; Prof Elijah Ogola, Kenya, Vice-President East; Dr Anastase Dzudie, Cameroon, Acting Vice-President Central; Dr Harun Otieno, Kenya, Assistant Secretary General East; Dr Awad Mohamed, Sudan, Assistant Secretary General North; Prof Johan Brink, South Africa, Assistant Secretary General South and Prof Toure Ali Ibrahim, Niger, Assistant Secretary General West.